12th State Election: PBB candidates list finalised

Nanta speaking at a press conference. On the right is KPDNHEP Sarawak Director Datuk Stanley Tan. Photo: Ramidi Subari

KUCHING: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) has already finalised its list of candidates for the upcoming state election.

PBB secretary-general Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi said the list of candidates was decided by the party’s president and Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

“However, we do not know about the other Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) component parties,” he said during a press conference after an engagement with the media at The Waterfront Hotel here on Thursday (Oct 21).

GPS comprise of PBB, Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP).

On GPS’s preparation for the upcoming election, Nanta pointed out that the ruling coalition has been prepared since 2019.

He said that Abang Johari who is also GPS chairman has instructed for all election operations rooms to be activated.

“We have been ready since 2019 because the state election was supposed to be held last year, but it was postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Over the past year, we have conducted various courses and preparations such as the materials for campaigning. We are ready,” he reiterated.

Previous articleCMO: What press conference on DUN dissolution?
Next articleAnxious wait for DUN dissolution