22 cases turn Beluru from yellow to orange

KUCHING: Beluru District has changed its status from yellow to orange after it recorded 22 local infection cases within the last 14 days.

The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today said the districts of Kapit, Song, Dalat, Bintulu, Kanowit, Miri, Sibu, and Kuching retained their red status with a total of 1,893 local infection cases reported in these eight districts within the last fortnight.

“The districts of Bau, Lundu, Subis, and Betong remain orange with 102 local infection cases reported in the last 14 days.”

Meanwhile, the districts of Sarikei, Matu, Daro, Sebauh, Lawas, Telang Usan, Bukit Mabong, Tatau, Pakan, Serian, Belaga, Meradong, Julau, Simunjan, Lubok Antu, Selangau, Samarahan, and Sri Aman remained yellow with a total of 151 local infection cases reported in the last 14 days. The other nine districts remain green.  

The SDMC said 108 new cases had recovered and were discharged from hospitals today. They comprised 58 from Sibu Hospital, 18 from the Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) under Kapit Hospital, 14 from Sarawak General Hospital (SGH), eight from Bintulu Hospital, eight from Miri Hospital and two from Sarikei Hospital.

“This brings the total number of recovered and discharged cases to 3,092 or 64.1 percent of total Covid-19 cases in Sarawak, “ it added.

As of today, 1,673 cases were still undergoing treatment at hospital isolation wards and PKRCs – 875 in Sibu Hospital, Miri Hospital (333), SGH (155), Bintulu Hospital (147), PKRC Kapit (135), Sarikei Hospital (23), Limbang Hospital (4), and PKRC Sipitang, Sabah (1).

SDMC said 222 new person under investigation (PUI) cases were reported while 86 PUIs were still awaiting laboratory results.

Twelve active Covid-19 clusters still remained in Sarawak, namely the Bintang Daily Cluster in Meradong; Jalan Pengiran Cluster in Matu; Tabong Cluster in Bau; Indah Riang Cluster, Keranji Tabuan Cluster, and Stutong Cluster in Kuching; Bedayan Cluster in Serian; Rakut Cluster, Jelita Cluster, and Bah Sayap Cluster in Miri; Bukit Sekubong Cluster in Sebauh; and Pasai Cluster in Sibu.