24 Penasu residents receive land titles

Lau (third right) and Daniel (fourth right) posing in a photo with recipients of the individual land titles.

SIBU: Twenty-four residents at Penasu, in Bawang Assan area here, received their individual land titles issued under Section 18 of Sarawak’s Land Code.

They received their land titles at the Land and Survey Department Sibu Division office on Friday.

They were led by a political secretary to the chief minister Daniel Bujal and accompanied by Senator Robert Lau as witness.

According to both Lau and Daniel, more individual title deeds under section 18 would be issued to NCR landowners in the near future.

Lau therefore said, the individual title deeds issuance was the second and final stage process that officially recognised the native customary land.

“The first stage is the perimeter survey under section 6 of the Land Code as Bumiputra Communal Reserve,” he said.