98 receive state awards, medals from Taib

Taib and his wife, Raghad with the recipients of the state awards and medals.

KUCHING: Ninety-eight recipients received state awards and medals from Head of State Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud at an investiture ceremony at Dewan Besar Astana Negeri here today.  

The ceremony began with the conferment of the Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak (DJBS) which carries the title ‘Datu’ to Datuk Awang Suhaili @ Suhaidi Ledi.

Meanwhile, the recipients of the Johan Bintang Sarawak (JBS) award were Datuk Dev Kumar M M Sree, Ricky @ Mohamad Razi Sitam and Shankar Ram Pohumall.

The ceremony then continued with the conferment of the Johan Bintang Kenyalang (JBK) to 12 recipients including Lo Khere Chiang, Yusuf Abdul Wahab, Alexander Vincent and Datin Dr Zaliha Christine Abdullah.

The Johan Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (JPC) was awarded to four recipients while the Pingat Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (PPC) was awarded to 12 recipients including the late Mohamad Sabari Shakeran.

Meanwhile, 20 recipients received the Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (PBS) award while the Pingat Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang (PBK) was awarded to 46 recipients.

Present at the ceremony were Taib’s wife Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Raghad Kurdi Taib and other dignitaries.