Abang Jo thankful all 10 Sarawak MPs retained


KUCHING: Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg has conveyed his appreciation to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob for retaining all 10 MPs from Sarawak in the new federal Cabinet.

He also thanked Ismail for having appointed former Entrepreneur Development and Cooperative Minister and Santubong MP Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of Parliament and law.

“We have four full ministers and four deputy ministers from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), while the other two deputy ministers are from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu).

“They will shoulder the responsibilities and trust given to them and work together with the prime minister using the ‘Malaysia Family’ approach,” he told reporters after paying a courtesy visit to former Head of State Tun Abang Muhammad Salahuddin Abang Barieng at his residence in Telaga Air today.   

Abang Johari was responding to today’s appointment of members of the new federal Cabinet announced by Ismail.

The Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) chairman then stressed that the primary focus of the new federal government was to eliminate the Covid-19 pandemic in the country.

“Besides that, we will tackle other problems faced by the country, including working to revitalise the economy,” he said.

“On behalf of Sarawakians, I thank you (the federal government). God willing, Sarawak will play its role,” said Abang Johari.

Proposal to field more women in GE15 lauded

KUCHING: Datuk Seri Fatimah Abdullah fully supports the nomination of women candidates in the 15th General Election (GE15) to promote gender equality. The Parti Pesaka...

Share post:

Our Opinion

More like this

No question of neglecting any community, assures YB

SIMANGGANG: The Chinese community, especially in the Lingga state...

Disabled to get fair shake under GPS

KUCHING: People with disabilities (OKU) will be given the...

4,834 proposed projects awaiting approval in Limbang

MIRI: As many as 4,834 proposed projects have been...

Temple upgrading project ready soon

MIRI: The ongoing upgrading works of Hai Long Si...

Landslide victims get cash aid

BAU: Three heads of households (KIR) who were affected...

45.1 per cent of Malaysia’s adults given booster dose

KUALA LUMPUR: A total of 10,561,588 individuals or 45.1...

Man held after boss reports bike theft

MIRI: A 27-year-old local man was arrested on Sunday...

14 new cases, zero fatality

KUCHING: Fourteen new Covid-19 cases have been reported in...