Air Force releases names of murdered members

The forensics team arrives at the scene. Photo: Ghazali Bujang

KOTA SAMARAHAN: The identities of the four servicemen who was shot to death by an amok at Squadron 330, Kota Samarahan at 7.15am this morning, have been revealed by the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF).

They are Air Corporal (KPL U) Mohammad Ehsan Sehamat, Air Corporal Ho Swee Boon and Leading Aircraftman (LUK) Nesly Nabau who died at the scene, while, Air Corporal Sharif Mohd Siddiq Al-Attas Wan Sabli succumbed to his injuries at Kota Samarahan Heart Centre while receiving treatment.

Siddiq together with his wife and children.

“The next-of-kin have been informed of their deaths through the RMAF management at Kuching Air Base.

“All those who died were Sarawakians and married. The late Mohammad Ehsan was from Asajaya Laut, Samarahan, the late Swee Boon was from Lundu, the late Sharif Mohd was from Siniawan, Bau and the late Nesly was from Sibu,” the spokesperson said.

Air Force chief General Tan Sri Ackbal Abdul Samad was at the scene to find out more information on the tragedy.

Ackbal also met with the deceased’s next of kin and expressed his condolences to the widows and families.

He also presented contributions from the RMAF Welfare Fund and other welfare contributions to the beneficiaries.

He hoped that the families will be patient while the RMAF will handle all burial matters and the welfare of the next of kin.

The spokesperson stated that they had handed over the case to the police for further investigation and asked all parties not to make any speculation until the investigation has been completed. Everyone is also urged to respect the sensitivities of the heirs and families of the deceased.

Officers waiting outside the TUDM guardhouse after the shooting incident. Photo: Ghazali Bujang
Previous articleDiscard traditional mindset, says women’s society
Next articleWife remembers her husband