Another four new clusters in Sarawak

KUCHING: The State Health Department has identified four new Covid-19 clusters in the state.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the first cluster, dubbed the Lorong Perlis Empat cluster in Kuala Baram, Miri, was a community cluster involving the occupants of a company’s workers’ quarters under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO).

“Of the 769 individuals who were screened, 33 including the index case were positive, 323 were negative while 413 are still awaiting laboratory results,” it said in a statement on Sunday (June 20).

The SDMC said the Jalan Usaha Jaya cluster was a workplace cluster involving the workers’ hostels of an electronics factory in Jalan Usaha Jaya, here.

It said 170 individuals were screened as part of active case detection (ACD) involving the cluster.

“Thirteen including the index case were positive, 121 were   negative while 36 are still awaiting laboratory results,” added the committee.

The third cluster, dubbed the Kampung Taba Sait cluster, was a community cluster involving the residents of Kampung Taba Sait, Bengoh Resettlement Scheme, Kuching, said the SDMC.

It added that ACD work detected 10 positive cases including the index case.

Meanwhile, the committee said the Jalan Tabuan Tranquility cluster was also a workplace cluster involving employees of a restaurant at Jalan Tabuan Tranquility, Kuching.

“Of the 42 individuals who were screened, 13 were positive   and 29 negative,” it explained.

“All Covid-19 positive cases were admitted to nearby hospitals and low-risk treatment centres (PKRC) in Kuching and Miri districts for isolation and further treatment,” it added.

The committee also announced the end of three clusters in Kuching, namely the Jalan Stadium Negeri cluster, the Taman Sourabaya Indah cluster and the Jalan Jambatan Gantung cluster and the Sungai Majau cluster in Kanowit.