Another new community cluster in Sarawak

KUCHING:  The State Health Department today (Tuesday) declared one new Covid-19 community cluster.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily Covid-19 update, said the cluster, dubbed the Ulu Teru Cluster, involved a longhouse at Kampung Lubok Mulong, Ulu Teru, Beluru.

Of the 468 people who were screened, 46 cases including the index case were positive, 360 cases were negative while 62 cases were still awaiting laboratory results.

“All positive cases were admitted to the Miri Hospital and low-risk treatment centres (PKRCs) in the Miri district for isolation and further treatment,” it said.

SDMC added that the State Health Department had also declared the end of three clusters, namely the Jalan Disa Cluster in Sibu, the Sains Bakam Cluster in Miri and the Sungai Nirai Cluster in Selangau.

“This came after no new cases were detected or reported within 28 days involving these clusters,” it explained.

The committee said the number of active clusters in the state now stood at 75 and 13 of them had recorded 146 new cases.