Saturday, April 10, 2021

Book Review

The making of a true champion

BY FAKHRY ASA'AD Title: Frankel: The Greatest Racehorse Of All Time And The Sport That Made HimAuthor: Simon CooperPublication year: 2020Publisher: Harper CollinsISBN: 9780008307035Price: RM89.90 In horse racing, greatness is defined by speed. Being the second fastest counts for little. You...

Casting a new light on freedom of speech

BY DORGE RAJAH Book Title: Why Societies Need DissentISBN: 9780674017689Author: Cass R. SunsteinPublisher: Harvard University PressPublication Year: 2005Price: RM97.20 Censorship, then, is what the law of free speech is fundamentally designed to prevent.— Professor Cass R. Suntein Dissent and opinions are loosely...

A more trusting view of humanity

Title: Talking to StrangersAuthor: Malcolm GladwellPublication year: 2019Publisher: Little, Brown & CoISBN: 9780316478526Price: RM39.00 His first in six years, “Talking to Strangers” is bestselling author Malcolm Gladwell’s latest book and this time it centres on communication and also on how...

All about adapting to changes

BY TEO HUA HIN Book Title: Who Moved My Cheese?ISBN: 9780091816971Author: Dr Spencer JohnsonPublisher: Ebury PublishingPublication Year: 1998Price: RM39.90 With over 2.5 million copies sold worldwide, Who Moved My Cheese? is a simple parable that reveals profound truths. It is the...

A riveting murder mystery

Title: The Guest’s ListAuthor: Lucy FoleyCategory: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological thriller, Psychological FictionISBN: 9780008297176Publisher: HarperCollinsPublication Year: 2020Price: RM69.90 The Guest List is a fun and fast-paced, guessing game of a read; perfect for fans of Dame Agatha Christie, or Ruth...

A love story tangled with mystery

Title: The ReturnAuthor: Nicholas SparksCategory: Fiction, Romance, ContemporaryISB Code: 9780751567809Publisher: Little Brown Book Group LimitedPublication Year: 2020Price: RM79.90 Nicholas Sparks’ ‘The Return’ is another love story tangled with mystery, something that the author is best known for. He is one...

Don’t compete, just be more human, human

Book title: The Human Edge: How curiosity and creativity are your superpowers in the digital economyAuthor: Greg OrmePublication year: 2019Publisher: Ft Pr (US)ISBN: 9781292267883Price: RM69.90 Can we compete with artificial intelligence (AI)? Is our world becoming the world of cyborgs? What...

For those who prefer real life to fiction

Book title: True Stories of The Second World WarAuthor: Paul DownswellPublication year: 2006Publisher: Usborne Publishing LtdISBN: 9780746088210Price: RM69.90 The battle of Iwo Jima 1945 has always fascinated me. It was a story of an epic war between the US Marines...

An emotional roller coaster worth the read

Book Title: It's Okay to Laugh : Crying Is Cool TooISBN: 9780062419385Author: Nora McInernyPublisher: Dey Street Books (US)Publication Year: 2017Price: RM79.90 Life can be hard. Really hard. In 2011, Nora McInerny’s boyfriend, Aaron, was found to have brain cancer. She...

It’s fine to feel strange

Book title: Weird but Normal: EssaysAuthor: Mia MercadoPublisher: HarperOnePublished: May 19, 2020ISBN: 0062942808Price: Approximately RM49.98 (US$11.99 on Amazon) Growing up, I wished I had an elder sister to confide in. I have an elder brother and although we are close,...

Latest News

GOF foils five human smuggling attempts over nine days

KUCHING: The General Operations Force (GOF) foiled five human smuggling attempts during operations conducted between Apr 1 and 9. GOF...