CCTVs at every entry point next year

Immigration Department Sarawak Director Datuk Ken Leben. Photo: Ramidi Subari

SERIAN: Sarawak’s Immigration Department will install closed-circuit televisions (CCTV) at every entry point, beginning next year.

Director Datuk Ken Leben said the CCTVs would enable better immigration enforcement.

“Of all entry points, only one (airport) is equipped with facial recognition (biometric access control system).

“So, we are on the verge of implementing facial recognition throughout our entry points in the state,” he added.

“Apart from that, a system will also be implemented at all entry points to detect blacklisted illegal immigrants.”

He was speaking to reporters at the ‘Sempadan Kita, Maruah Kita’ (Our Border, Our Pride) programme at the Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security (ICQS) Tebedu here on Thursday (Oct 15).

Meanwhile, digital stamping is still in the planning process.

“We are slowly moving into digital technology. Right now we are still using manual.

“It will be very helpful in curbing any illegal entries and syndicates.”

Sarawak Immigration Department is responsible for controlling a total of 14 entry points by land. Of these, nine entry points are with Indonesia, four entry points with Brunei, and one with Sabah.

Additionally, Sarawak has 10 entry points by sea and seven entry points by air.

Sarawak also has two immigration detention depots, and 15 immigration offices.

“With a strength of 1,442 officers, we are manning a total of 48 places in Sarawak.”

Thursday’s programme was organised by Sarawak Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) in collaboration with Sarawak Immigration Department.

Among those present were Sarawak MACC director Mohd Zaki Hassan, Sarawak Customs director Herman Shah Abdullah and Sarawak MACC deputy director (prevention) Chang Ching.