Elizabeth Deng tops list of state award recipients

Taib conferring the Johan Bintang Sarawak (JBS) award on Elizabeth (left pic) and Julaihi receiving the Johan Bintang Kenyalang (JBK) award from Taib.

KUCHING: The chairperson of the Sarawak Orang Ulu Council of Elders, Elizabeth Deng topped the list of 100 recipients who received state awards and medals from Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud.

Elizabeth was conferred the Johan Bintang Sarawak (JBS) award by the Head of State at an investiture ceremony at Dewan Besar Astana Negeri here on Tuesday (Sept 16).

Miri deputy mayor Julaihi Mohamad was conferred the Johan Bintang Kenyalang (JBK) award.

The two recipients of the Pingat Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (PPC) awards were Kota Kinabalu High Court judicial commissioner Amelati Parnell and former State Health Department deputy director Dr Kamarudin Lajim.

The ceremony then continued with the conferment of the Pegawai Bintang Sarawak (PBS) award on four recipients, namely, Michael Tiang Ming Tee, Wong Ei Sing, Watson Awan Jalai and Singer Nguan.

A total of 16 recipients were awarded the Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang (PBK) award including Datin Seri Enn Ong Siok Ean,   wife of Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian and Datin Esther Mujan Balan,  wife of Mulu assemblyman and Sarawak State Legislative Assembly (DUN) Deputy Speaker Datuk Gerawat Gala.

The Pingat Perkhidmatan Bakti (PPB) and Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (PPT) saw a total of 33 and 44 recipients respectively, the largest number of recipients at the ceremonial session.

Also present during the ceremony were Taib’s wife Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Ragad Kurdi Taib and other dignitaries.