Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi


KUCHING: The first phase of relocation of residents from 12 Malay villages across Sarawak River to Darul Hana housing scheme is expected to begin in the third quarter of this year.

Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi

Assistant Minister in the Chief Minister’s Department Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi said 573 units of houses have been built for the first phase of the relocation.

“The first batch of villagers to be resettled will be from Kpg Panglima Seman Lama, Kpg Semarang and Kpg Pulo Ulu. The rest of the villagers will move to their new houses gradually and in phases,” he said to reporters after launching a Quran Disposal facility site in Masjid Darul Hana here Thursday.

Dr Abdul Rahman pointed out the whole relocation process would take 10 years.

“This project will benefit 4,278 families from Kampung Boyan, Kampung Gersik, Kampung Surabaya Ulu, Kampung Surabaya Hilir, Kampung Panglima Seman Ulu, Kampung Panglima Seman Lama, Kampung Semarang, Kampung Pulo Ulu, Kampung Pulo Hilir, Kampung Bintawa Ulu, Kampung Bintawa Tengah and Kampung Bintawa Hilir,” he added.

He explained that the new housing scheme is well-equipped with public facilities, and will benefit a total of 16,655 people from the 12 villages.