(Seated from second left): Leong, Bobby, Soo, Fong and Buln, with other Gasak members after unveiling of the coalition's logo.

KUCHING: Gabungan Anak Sarawak (Gasak) coalition has announced its first five candidates to contest in the upcoming state election.

Gasak president cum Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB) president Bobby William said he would be contesting the Senadin seat against incumbent Datuk Lee Kim Shin from Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP).

Meanwhile, Gasak chairman cum Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi) president Lina Soo will stand in Padungan.

Its other candidates are former Pujut assemblyman cum Sarawak Independent Alliance (SIA) chief Fong Pau Teck, Gasak secretary Buln Ribos who will contest in Serembu and treasurer Alex Leong Shaow Tung in the Bandar Kuching seat.

Bobby said that the coalition aimed to contest in all 82 seats in the upcoming election.

“Our mission for Gasak is to send as many representatives as possible to the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) in this coming election as we believe that the DUN is very powerful to make decision for the future of Sarawak,” he added.

He said this when unveiling and launching the logo for the Gasak coalition at S4S office in Jalan Sg Maong Tengah here on Saturday.

On the logo, Bobby explained that it featured a ‘bungai terung’ (eggplant flower).

Bungai terung has five petals which symbolises the five entities of the coalition Sarawak Workers Party (SWP), Aspirasi, PBDSB, S4S and SIA.

“The spiral at the centre of the bungai terung is called ‘Tali Nyawa’ (the rope of life) which symbolises the coalition as the new beginning for ‘anak Sarawak’ (Sarawakians),” he elaborated.