In the women’s category, SEA Games gold medallist Grace Wong Xiu Mei will face a stiff fight with promising ping pong player Karen Lyne Anmak Dick for the Sportwoman of the Year award.

Three others are Gillian Lian Siew Gior (tenpin bowling), Nurul Hidayah Abdul Karim (taekwondo) and Nur Azrenna Ahmad Jumry (cycling) are also in the mix.

In the best coach award, the nominees are Angelo Koay Ghee Lye from tenpin bowling, wushu coach Lau Hui Wei and Pui Jak Joon from taekwondo.

The best leadership award nominees are Jackson Ting Nik Soon (tenpin bowling), Wong Siew Poh (wushu), Leong Beng Keong (athletics), the late Harifen Mansor (sailing), Sylvia Alexander Lian (women rugby), Jummat Ibrahim (muay thai), Matthew Chin Hiong Choi from Pesrons (Paralympics) and Ferald Rentap Jabu from the weightlifting association.

There are also awards for the paralympics best team for both men and women’s categories, best sportswiriters award for the Bahasa Malaysia and Chinese and the sports photographers award.

A special award or Special Sport Icon award (Anugerah Khas Tokoh Sukan) will also be presented to a surprised sports personality from the past who had achieved excellent international recognition.

The MSNS sports official said the government will make it even grandier next year when some of the
awards may be streamlined to make it more competitive and focused.

He said the nominated entries for the year 2017 and 2018 are quite competitive, especially for the Most Promising Sportsman and Sportswoman awards.