Sabah Umno Liaison Committee chairman and Barisan Nasional candidate for DUN Lamag Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin (second right) together with Umno's top leadership when met at a press conference at the Sabah Central Umno Headquarters today. Photo: Bernama

KOTA KINABALU: Election Commission chairman Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh said as at 11.30pm, with 65 seats having been counted, the GRS allies Perikatan Nasional had won 17 seats, Barisan Nasional had 14 and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) had six, for a total of 37.

This validates earlier Gabungan Rakyat Sabah’s (GRS) claim to have obtained a simple majority in the Sabah state election to form the new state government.

Sabah BN chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin said the coalition comprising Barisan Nasional (BN), Perikatan Nasional (PN) and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) has won 37 seats compared to Warisan Plus’ 20 seats so far.

Bung Moktar made the claim at a press conference held at the Sabah Umno headquarters here tonight.

The Sabah State Legislative Assembly has 73 seats, including 13 new ones.

“As the Sabah BN chairman, I would like to extend my profound thanks to the people of Sabah for the trust given us to shift from the rule of Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan).

“GRS is discussing our direction and other problems, and we will ensure that the new government is transparent and continues to protect the people of Sabah,” said Bung Moktar.

He also thanked the machineries of Umno and other components who had camped themselves in Sabah to help in the campaign.

“I am very confident that insya’Allah this new government can be formed on the spirit of comradeship, and we will thoroughly discuss the direction of this government,” said Bung Moktar, who won the new Lamag seat.

Asked who would be sworn in as the new Sabah Chief Minister, he said this matter would be discussed as soon as possible.

Asked on the possibility of problems on power sharing with Perikatan Nasional in the Sabah government, Bung Moktar, who is also Kinabatangan Member of Parliament, said: “Problems will not arise if we do not create problems.” 

Also present to celebrate GRS’ victory were Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, BN secretary-general Tan Sri Annuar Musa, Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and other Sabah political leaders. – Bernama