More teachers for Johor, Sabah and Sarawak

Deputy Education Minister II Datuk Mohamad Alamin speaks to the press. Photo: Ramidi Subari

KUCHING: The Ministry of Education (MOE) will allocate a large number of the grade DG41 Education Service Officers on a one-off basis to Johor, Sabah and Sarawak.

Deputy Education Minister II Datuk Mohamad Alamin said the three states faced a shortage in teachers.

“The Education Service Commission is in the process of interviewing for the one-off recruitment.

“Based on discussions with the Education Minister and the ministry, priority will be given to Johor, Sabah and Sarawak.

“We will request more teachers for these states,” he said on Monday (Oct 4).

On another note, Mohamad said two schools, namely SMK Trusan and SMK Merapok in Lawas District, would be closed until Oct 6.

“A teacher at SMK Trusan was confirmed positive while two teachers at SMK Merapok were also positive (for Covid-19).

“MOE and the Ministry of Health (MOH) will take firm and proactive measures if a teacher, student or staff is confirmed positive.

“The ministry has issued a letter of closure to both schools while the MOH will monitor the situation.”

He added that this was considered an isolated case seeing as it involved only two schools.