M’sia start with a silver and bronze

In this file photo, Malaysia’s Azizulhasni Awang celebrates with a flag after winning bronze in the men’s keirin finals track cycling event at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games on August 16, 2016. Azizulhasni clinched the men’s elite team sprint bronze medal with Muhammad Fadhil Mohd Zonis and Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom at the Jakarta International Velodrome on Wednesday night. Photo: AFP

KUALA LUMPUR: The national cycling team got their campaign in the ACC Asian Track Championships 2019 off to a promising start when they bagged a silver and a bronze at the Jakarta International Velodrome late Wednesday night.

The trio of Ahmad Safwan Ahmad Nazeri, Mohammad Fariz Haikal Mohd Kadir and Muhammad Ridwan Sahrom handed Malaysia the silver medal when they clocked 46.654secs in the men’s junior team sprint final.

India took the gold medal through Esow Esow, Ronaldo Singh Laitonjam and Rojit Singh Yanglem (45.432secs).

Earlier in the qualifying round, Malaysia (47.153secs) also finished second behind India (46.123secs).

Meanwhile, Mohd Azizulhasni Awang, Muhammad Fadhil Mohd Zonis and Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom clocked 44.673secs to clinch the bronze medal in the men’s elite team sprint after defeating Kazakhstan’s Pavel Vorzhev, Maxim Nalyotov and Sergey Ponomaryov (45.472secs).

Japan (44.111secs) took the gold medal while China (44.170secs) settled for silver.

In the qualifiers, the Malaysians finished third (44.850secs) behind China’s Guo Shuai, Xu Chao and Zhou Yu (44.563secs) and Japan’s Kazuki Amagai, Yudai Nitta and Kazunari Watanabe (44.568secs).

In the women’s team event, the combination of Farina Shawati Mohd Adnan and Fatehah Mustapa failed to make the final after finishing fifth in the qualifying round in 35.443secs.

The national women’s junior riders, Nor Aisyah Munirah Chek Ramli and Nurul Nazirah Mohd Rosli, suffered a similar fate, coming in fifth in 39.722secs in the qualifying round. – Bernama