New cluster identified in Miri

Douglas Uggah speaking at the press conference on Tuesday (Jan 19) as State Health Department (JKNS) director Dr Chin Zin Hing looks on. Photo: JaPen

KUCHING:The Sarawak Health Department (JKNS) has declared a new cluster called the Rakut Cluster, which only involves Miri District.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the index case of the cluster is case 1,740, who was detected through contact screening of a positive Covid-19 case on Jan 12.

“As result of active detection of contacts to this case, nine more cases have been detected, including six new cases today,” he said at the SDMC Covid-19 update press conference today.

He said that as of 12pm today, a total of 33 individuals have been screened, of which 10 were tested positive, including the index case, seven tested negative, and 16 still awaiting results.

With the addition of the new Rakut Cluster, the total number of active clusters in Sarawak rose to eight — Rakut Cluster; Jelita Cluster and Bah Sayap Cluster in Miri; Bukit Sekubong Cluster in Sebauh; Pasai Cluster in Sibu; Keranji Tabuan Cluster and Stutong Cluster in Kuching; and Mador Cluster in Meradong.

Uggah, who is also Deputy Chief Minister, also announced that Kanowit District has changed its status from yellow to orange after 29 local infection cases were reported in the district in the last 14 days.

“Subis District in Miri Division and Belaga District in Kapit Division have changed their statuses from green to yellow after three new local infection cases were detected in these districts in the last 14 days,” he said.

He said the districts of Kuching, Sibu, Miri and Beluru remained as red zones with a total of 905 local infection cases reported in the four districts within the last 14 days, while Sebauh District remained as an orange zone.

The districts of Betong, Meradong, Julau, Kapit, Simunjan, Asajaya, Dalat, Selangau, Sebauh, Samarahan, Sri Aman, Bukit Mabong, Bintulu, Limbang and Kanowit kept their yellow status with a total of 79 local infection cases reported in the last 14 days.

“The other 17 districts remain as a green zone,” he added.