PH to contest in all 82 seats

Chong Chieng Jen (fourth left), Larry Sng (third right) and Abang Abdul Halil (second right) sign the agreement on the seat allocation while other party members look on.

KUCHING: Pakatan Harapan (PH) Sarawak will contest in all 82 seats for the coming 12th State Election.

Its three component parties namely Democratic Action Party (DAP), Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) have come to an agreement on the seat allocation.

PKR has the most seats as it will contest in 47 seats, followed by DAP with 26 seats and Amanah with nine seats. 

The agreement on the seat allocation was signed between Sarawak DAP chief Chong Chieng Jen, Sarawak PKR chief Larry Sng and Sarawak Amanah chief Abang Abdul Halil Abang Naili at the DAP Headquarters on Saturday (Jan 2).

This is the first time that before the election is held, the parties have come to an agreement on the seats, said Chong who is also PH Sarawak chairman.

“This is a good start for the new year. It is the first time we can come to this agreement way before the dissolution of the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) or nomination,” he said in a press conference.

With such agreement the three parties will not be involved in any three-corner fight clashing against each other, he pointed out.

The objective is to have close cooperation and increase the chances of winning in the election, he said.

When asked if PH Sarawak would cooperate with other opposition parties such as Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Chong said they would work with credible and genuine opposition so as to increase the chances of winning.

“There is always room for cooperation; in politics it is the art of possibilities. But for a start we can agree among the three parties and all are happy on the arrangement which is a very good start,” he said.  

Meanwhile, Sng thanked PH partners for being accommodating and open in the discussion on who to contest in which seat. 

“I am glad that we are able to reach a consensus, and I hope this is a way forward for PH to work together and formulate policies for all races.

“This is also an improvement from the past and hopefully with this new strategy it will yield better results so that there is no confusion and unhappiness that is left to last minute,” he said.

Abang Abdul Halil too said Amanah was happy with the agreement although they had to sacrifice some seats.

“Nevertheless, we believe our partners can do better in some seats,” he said.

On the seats, PKR will contest in Opar, Tanjung Datu, Pantai Damai, Tupong, Satok, Batu Lintang, Asajaya, Serembu, Tarat, Tebedu, Sadong Jaya, Simunjan, Lingga, Beting Maro, Balai Ringin, Bukit Begunan, Engkilili, Batang Ai, Saribas, Layar, Bukit Saban, Kalaka, Krian, Daro, Pakan, Meluan, Ngemah, Machan, Nangka, Dalat, Tellian, Balingian, Tamin, Kakus, Katibas, Belaga, Murum, Jepak, Bekenu, Lambir, Marudi, Telang Usan, Mulu, Bukit Kota, Batu Danau, Ba’ Kelalan, and Bukit Sari.

For DAP, it will contest in Tasik Biru, Padungan, Pending, Kota Sentosa, Batu Kitang, Batu Kawah, Stakan, Mambong, Kedup, Bukit Semuja, Simanggang, Repok, Meradong, Bukit Assek, Dudong, Bawang Assan, Pelawan, Pelagus, Bukit Goram, Baleh, Tanjong Batu, Kemena, Samalaju, Piasau, Pujut, and Senadin.

Amanah will contest in Demak Laut, Samariang, Muara Tuang, Gedong, Sebuyau, Kabong, Kuala Rajang, Semop, and Jemoreng.