Public complying well with inter-zone travel ban

Uggah (centre) with security personnel at a roadblock post near Balai Ringin.

KUCHING: The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas is pleased that the public is complying well with the inter-zone travel ban. 

“There is a smaller number of private vehicles travelling along the highway despite the coming Hari Raya celebration and public holidays beginning this Thursday,” he said.

Uggah, who is also deputy chief minister, also said he was satisfied with the commitment shown by the police, military and People’s Volunteers Corps (Rela) personnel who were manning the roadblocks along the Pan Borneo Highway.

Earlier on Sunday (May 9), he visited two roadblock posts near Engkilili and Balai Ringin to observe the situation on the ground.

“The security personnel play a very important role in stopping the spread of Covid-19.

“I’m paying them a visit to show the state government’s appreciation towards those who are involved in manning the roadblocks,” said Uggah in a statement today (May 9).

Commenting on the inter-zone travel ban, he said it was necessary in order to break the Covid-19 infection chain in the state.

“We have experienced how free inter-zone travel contributed towards a surge in our positive cases. In Sarawak, we still have many red zones or areas with high numbers of positive cases.

“It is our duty to protect our family members, our neighbours and everyone as well. By not visiting them now, especially if we come from a red zone area, we are protecting them.

“Similarly, we are also protecting ourselves by not going into a red zone area if we come from a green zone,” he said.

Uggah explained that the state was now divided into 16 zones. Among them were the Kuching Zone comprising Kuching, Samarahan and Serian divisions; the Sri Aman Zone covering the Sri Aman division; the Betong Zone (Betong division); Sarikei Zone (Sarikei division); Sibu Zone (Sibu district); Mukah Zone (Mukah division); Bintulu Zone (Bintulu division); Kapit Zone (Kapit division); and the Limbang Zone (Limbang division).

“On the other hand, we have the Miri Zone (Miri district); Beluru Zone (Beluru district); Subis Zone (Subis district); Telang Usan Zone (Telang Usan district); Marudi Zone (Marudi district); Kanowit Zone (Kanowit district); and Selangau Zone (Selangau district).

“Any inter-zone travel from May 7 until midnight on May 17 is not allowed without a police permit.

“However, those in the essential services (economic and industries), under official government duties and those who have emergency needs (medical treatment, death and others) are allowed,” he clarified.

Accompanying Uggah on the trip was political secretary to the Chief Minister Dr Richard Rapu.