Rundi hopes ministers will continue to fight for state rights

Datuk Seri Dr Stephen Rundi Utom

KUCHING: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) vice-president Datuk Seri Dr Stephen Rundi Utom hopes that the federal ministers from Sarawak will continue to fight for the state’s eroded rights and fulfil the aspirations of all Sarawakians.

He said this on Friday (Aug 27) when prompted for comments on the new Federal Cabinet line-up announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob earlier the same day.

“Though there are a few changes in the portfolios, in general the structure remains the same.

“Hopefully, the new Prime Minister’s leadership will steer our country out of this pandemic nightmare as the people are tired of too much politicking and, at the same time, people’s lives and livelihoods are in jeopardy,” said Rundi, who is also Sarawak Utilities Minister.

Under the new federal administration, Sarawak retained four full minister posts and six deputy minister posts as per the previous administration under former Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin but with some portfolio adjustments.

The four ministers are Senior Minister of Works Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof; Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri; Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi; and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar.

The six deputy minister posts are Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak Affairs) Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib; Deputy Health Minister Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang; Deputy Rural Development Minister Datuk Hasbi Habibollah; Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Henry Sum Agong; Plantation Industries and Commodities Deputy Minister Datuk Willie Mongin; and Energy and Natural Resources Deputy Minister Datuk Ali Biju.