Sabah DUN dissolved


KOTA KINABALU: Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal has announced the dissolution of the State Legislative Assembly to pave the way for a state election, which has to be held within 60 days.

Mohd Shafie made the announcement today at the State administrative centre here after obtaining the consent of Sabah Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.

Earlier, Mohd Shafie had an audience with Juhar at Istana Negeri, and a vehicle carrying the chief minister was seen entering the palace at 8.25am. 

Mohd Shafie said he had sought and obtained the consent of Juhar to dissolve the state assembly.

“I will still be performing my duties as the chief minister during the period when the state assembly is dissolved,” he told a press conference after meeting state assemblymen and Members of Parliament from the government bloc.

Mohd Shafie said it was the people of Sabah, not other quarters, who would determine the state government.

The political situation in Sabah had heated up after former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman on Wednesday claimed that he had secured a simple majority to form a new state government.

The Sabah State Legislative Assembly has 65 seats, with the Parti Warisan Sabah (Warisan)-led bloc controlling 45 seats and the opposition holding 20 seats.

The government bloc comprises Warisan (31 seats), DAP (six), Upko and PKR (two each) and four appointed assemblymen, while the opposition is made up of Bersatu (nine), PBS (four), STAR (three), Independent (two), Umno (one) and one appointed assemblyman.

The dissolution of the state assembly comes some 26 months after Mohd Shafie, the Warisan president, was appointed as the chief minister on May 12, 2018.

In the 14th general election (GE14), Warisan won 21 state seats while its allies from Pakatan Harapan (PH) won eight – six by DAP and two by PKR.

However, the total of 29 seats won by Warisan and PH then was short of the simple majority required to form the state government.

The Warisan-led bloc then gained six seats through defections by Barisan Nasional assemblymen, boosting its share to 35 seats in the state assembly and giving it the right to form the state government on a simple majority. 

Following that, Mohd Shafie was sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Sabah at Istana Negeri on May 12, 2018, replacing the BN and STAR coalition led by Musa as the state government in a matter of 48 hours.

In GE14, BN won 29 seats and STAR took two seats. – Bernama

Library to host third blood drive

MIRI: The Sarawak State Library will be hosting its third blood donation drive this year on August 20 here. This time around it is organising...

Share post:

Our Opinion

More like this

PSB may have problems, opines PKR’s Abun Sui

KUCHING: Abun Sui Anyit says he does not know...

Dr Johnical, Baru to remain with PSB

KUCHING: Engkilili assemblyman Dr Johnical Rayong Ngipa says he...

PSB viability in doubt after See quit

KUCHING: Batu Lintang assemblyman See Chee How’s resignation as...

See could be unhappy with PSB, opines Abdul Karim

KUCHING: Datuk Seri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah has described...

Harnessing potential of young key to moving forward

KUCHING: Young people not only represent the future of...

African Swine Fever: Chong seeks clarity on actual status

KUCHING: DAP Sarawak chairman Chong Chieng Jen has called...

Stricter enforcement of laws needed to curb strays

KUCHING: There would be fewer strays and neglected animals...

Ministry looking forward to fully-digitalised platform in foreign manpower hiring

KUCHING: Minister Datuk Zuraidah Kamaruddin welcomes the agreement made...

Woman burnt to death in horrific crash

LIMBANG: A woman was burnt to death when the...

Sibu police arrest two motorcyclists for recklessness

SIBU: The traffic police here arrested two youths for...

ATM-TNI activate six joint border posts

TEBEDU: The Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) together with the...

Rabies can also infect cats

LIMBANG: Not many feline owners are aware that their...