Sarawak will be like Klang Valley without current measures

Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian

KUCHING: The measures employed by the health authorities in Sarawak to contain the spread of Covid-19 cases are crucial.

Without them, the state will face an outbreak situation similar to in the Klang Valley.

This was pointed out by State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) advisor, Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian in a Facebook post on Tuesday (Aug 3).

He stressed that the state would continue to employ such measures as it prepared to face threats from mutated Covid-19 variants.

“Be it more Delta variant or emerging variants such as Lambda that will land on our shore, Sarawak, like the rest of the world, will have to live with the virus and not live normally as we long for,” he said.

Dr Sim said everyone had to practise vaccination, test, trace, isolate, support and be responsible (V+TTIS+R).

“This is irrespective of which phase of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) we are in, the severity of the outbreak zones or vaccinations,” he added.

Dr Sim said without these measures, the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak would be critical with high death rate including brought in dead (BID) cases.

The Local Government and Housing Minister also thanked Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas) for conducting studies on the new Covid-19 variants.

“Thanks to Prof Dr David Perera and his team from Unimas for continuing to help Sarawak in the genomics study which takes experience, expertise and time,” he said.

Dr Sim warned that the positive cases would remain high unless everyone played a role in curbing Covid-19.

On Tuesday (Aug 3), Unimas’ Institute of Health and Community Medicine (IHCM) revealed that 180 more cases of the Covid-19 Delta variant had been detected in Sarawak.

IHCM director Perera said the new cases were detected from 355 positive Covid-19 cases sequenced as of July 27 in the ongoing tracking and surveillance of the virus variants circulating in the state.

He said the Delta variant cases were found in Kuching, Bau, Lundu, Kota Samarahan, Simunjan, Sri Aman, Miri and Bintulu.