Schools in red zones to close from tomorrow

Abang Johari tells schools in red zones to close. Photo: JaPen

KUCHING: The state government has decided to close all schools including nurseries and kindergartens in Covid-19 red zones for 14 days effective tomorrow (April 20).

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg said the decision was made as several schools in the state had reported several infection cases among their teachers and students.

“I have decided to close all schools because students infected in their schools can transmit the virus to their parents and vice versa. Likewise, teachers can transmit the virus to their schools and vice versa,” he said on Monday (April 19) during a press conference on the Covid-19 standard operating procedures (SOPs) enforcement themed “We have done it before, and we will do it again” at his office in Wisma Bapa Malaysia.

“For the sake of the health of the children as well as the community as a whole, the state government has decided to close the schools in red zones for two weeks,” he reiterated.

Early on, several education groups and other concerned parties around the state have repeated their calls for physical classes, especially those in red zones, to be temporarily suspended. As of Sunday, the 18 red zone districts in Sarawak are Kuching, Samarahan, Serian, Saratok, Sarikei, Meradong, Julau, Sibu, Selangau, Kanowit, Matu, Mukah, Bintulu, Kapit, Belaga, Miri, Subis, and Beluru.