Sepangah Cluster in Limbang latest addition


KUCHING: The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) declared the emergence of one new cluster in the state on Friday (Oct 1).

The Sepangah Cluster is a community cluster involving residents of a longhouse in Sepangah, Nanga Medamit in Limbang.

“Twenty-two out of 178 people screened including the index case tested positive for Covid-19 while the other 156 tested negative.

“All positive cases were admitted to Limbang Hospital and Covid-19 Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) in Limbang district,” said SDMC in a press statement.

The committee also announced the end of three Covid-19 clusters, namely the Ladang Hijau 01 Cluster in Beluru, Kampung Panggil Cluster in Sri Aman, and the Pangkalan Cluster in Bau.

It said that out of 108 active clusters in the state, seven clusters recorded 49 new cases on Oct 1.

At the same time, SDMC revealed that 11 new localities have been put under enhanced movement control order (EMCO) from Oct 1 to Oct 10.

“This includes five localities in Lubuk Antu namely Rumah (Rh.) Tan, Seremat, Engkilili; Rh. Ringkai, Seremat, Engkilili; Rh. Isau, Gelong, San Semanju; Rh. Jefferson Rimong, Selindung Ulu; and Rh. Wesly Bakak, Nanga Stamang, Ulu Engkari.”

Three other localities are in Pakan – Rh. Ko, Sg. Genega; Rh. Anding, Sg. Merah Dayu; and Rh. Jilap, Tajuk Bt. 6.

Rh. Lana, Kampung Sepangah Medamit in Limbang; Rh. Engkulau, Wong Besi Api in Julau; and Rh. Senaun, Ulu Binatang, Bintangor in Meradong will also undergo EMCO on the same period.

SDMC also announced the end of EMCO in 21 localities as of Oct 1, comprising of eight localities in Betong; three in Pakan; two each in Sarikei, Meradong, and Sri Aman; and one each in Telang Usan, Saratok, Pusa, and Lubuk Antu.

“EMCO will also end for Rh. Ubat, Nanga Serau in Julau on Saturday (Oct 2),” added the committee.