Seven new localities under full lockdown

A police and a RELA personnel manning the roadblock. Photo: Mohd Alif Noni

KUCHING: Seven morelocalities in Sarawak will be put under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO).

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said two localities in Tatau district namely Kuarters Pekerja Malaysia WCT Construction Sdn Bhd will undergo lockdown from June 5 to June 18 while Rh Bair anak Mam, KM28 Jalan Samarakan from June 6 to June 19 respectively.

“The EMCO will be implemented in the three longhouses in Pakan district namely Rh Ranggia, Nangga Bekakap, Rh Ubil Babai and Rh Ko, Genega is from June 8 to 24.

“Rh Sigi, Sg Sentebu Sare in Sarikei will undergo lockdown from June 9 to 25 and Kampung Sinar Budi Baru in Kuching from June 10 to 23,” SDMC said.

The committee also disclosed that the enforcement of EMCO has been extended from June 8 to 21 in Rh Kelly Kumpang Langgir and Rh Banying Kumpang Langgir, Engkilili, Sri Aman.

On another note, the committee stated that the EMCO has been lifted in eight localities including Kuarters Pekerja Harwood Timber Sdn Bhd in Bintulu on June 7.

“The EMCO was lifted on June 8 for Rh Isa anak Blone in Tanjung Manis; Kuarters Pekerja Borneo Shipping and Timber Agencies Sdn Bhd as well as Rh Samanggat anak Bubon, Ng Dia, Sangan in Tatau.

“It was also lifted on June 8 for Sungai Plan, Rh Sewa Leader Garage (Rh Sewa Abu), The Tulu, Bintulu Sentral and Samalaju Executive Lodge Block W5, Press Metal Bintulu Sdn Bhd in Bintulu,” SDMC said.

Meanwhile, the district of Pusa has changed to yellow from orange after 20 local infection cases were recorded in the last 14 days, bringing the number of yellow districts in the state to nine.

“The district of Matu and Lundu has changed from orange to yellow status after recording 22 and 21 local infection cases respectively in the past two weeks. The state has three orange districts.

“There are 28 districts which remain as red zones while there is no green zone district in the state,” SDMC said.