State identifies two new clusters


KUCHING: The State Health Department has identified two new community Covid-19 clusters in Sarawak.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the first cluster, dubbed the Sungai Entajum Cluster, involves a longhouse in Sungai Entajum, Sangan, Tatau under the imposition of enhanced movement control order (EMCO).

“With this cluster, 112 people have been screened where 41 was positive including the index case while the rest are awaiting laboratory test results,” it said in its daily statement on Sunday (Jul 4).

The second cluster, dubbed the Sungai Pelepak Cluster, also involved a longhouse under EMCO in Sungai Pelepak, Mile 5, Jalan KJD in Meradong, said the committee.

“A total of 163 persons were screened and 26 positive cases including the index case were detected.

“Meanwhile, 61 had tested negative while 76 are waiting for laboratory test results,” it added.

On a positive note, SDMC also announced the end of one cluster, namely the Jalan Agama Cluster in Miri after no new cases involving the cluster were reported within the past 28 days.

“There are currently 97 active clusters in the state. Nineteen clusters have recorded an addition of 157 cases while no new cases were registered involving the rest of the cluster,” it explained.

Previous articleLiving in harmony with nature
Next article365 cases recorded, one dead