SUPP shortlists candidates for four seats

Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem

SERIAN: The Bumiputera Bureau of the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) has shortlisted candidates for all four predominantly Bumiputera state seats which the party had staked claims on.

Aside from Datuk Francis Harden, who is currently the incumbent for Simanggang seat, the bureau had also singled out Niponi Undek to defend the Opar seat.

For Engkilili and Mambong seats, the bureau has identified three potential candidates each.

Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem, who is the chairman of the bureau, told reporters at the party service centre here today he had submitted the names of all the potential candidates to the party’s Central Working Committee (CWC).

He said the bureau was recommending Andrew Victor Nub, Jimson Jium and Ahkim Sarok for the Mambong seat.

For Engkilili, the three individuals identified are Desmond Sateng Sanjan, Semijie Janting and Kua Jack Seng.

“We have four Bumiputera branches in SUPP, namely Opar, Mambong, Simanggang and Engkilili. Four Bumiputera seats (which are) traditionally ours,” he said.

According to Riot, who is also Serian MP, the bureau decided on the potential candidates for all four seats during a meeting he chaired at the SUPP headquarters in Kuching on July 17.

The meeting was attended by members of SUPP Bumiputera Bureau comprising councillors and branch leaders from all four branches.

“I have submitted the list of potential candidates for all the four seats to the party’s CWC and urged them to look into it,” he added.

Previous articleNo way we’ll agree!
Next article‘DAP has reaped what it sowed’