Three new areas put under EMCO

Uggah speaks at the press conference. Photo: JaPen

KUCHING: The enhanced movement control order (EMCO) will be enforced in three new localities in the state.

The areas are Rh Bajak, Ng Semawang in Julau from April 14 to 27; Rh Nanggai Sungai Stok in Sarikei from April 15 to 21; and Malaysian Police Training Centre (Pulapol) in Kuching from April 16 to 29.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the two longhouses are to be put under lockdown due to having close contact to the positive cases detected in Julau and Sarikei districts.

“For Pulapol, since the positive cases have recorded an increase, therefore SDMC has decided to implement EMCO at the training centre,” he said in a press conference today.

Meanwhile, he also said the EMCO imposed at Kampung Binyu Baru, Samarahan has ended after the second screening test results found no new positive cases.

“Apart from that, there is no evidence showing that the Covid-19 infection is still spreading in the area,” he added.

Uggah also mentioned that due to an increase in number of cases in Bintulu Division, the committee has approved additional standard operating procedure for the conditional movement control order implemented in the division effective April 14 to 27.