Towards a brighter and secure future

A screen grab of Abang Johari (left) witnessing the exchange of MOU documents between SRDC, represented by Dr Peter (second left) and Unimas, represented by Dr Mohamad Kadim, (right) while Dr Sim (second right) looks on.

KUCHING: The Sarawak Research Development Council (SRDC) yesterday (July 26) inked a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with five organisations to collaborate in the areas of biomedical sciences and human capital development.

The organisations are Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas); Swinburne University of Technology Campus (Swinburne Sarawak); Amili (Asian Microbiome Library) Private & Limited Singapore; Australian National Phenome Centre; and Cambridge Sparks.

Chief Minister and SRDC chairman Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg witnessed the exchange of the MOU documents between SRDC, Unimas and Swinburne.

Representing the SRDC was its general manager Dr Peter Morin Nissom, while vice chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Mohamad Kadim Suaidi represented Unimas and pro vice chancellor and CEO Professor Lau Hieng Ho represented Swinburne University.

Due to the current pandemic, representatives from the overseas bodies were unable to attend the signing ceremony.

However, Amili (Asian Microbiome Library) Private & Limited Singapore chief executive officer (CEO) and co-founder Associate Professor Jeremy Lim; Cambridge Spark founder and CEO Dr Raoul Gabriel Urma; and Australian National Phenome Centre director Jeremy Nicholson, through video messages, said they were delighted to be part of the strategic partnerships with the Sarawak government.

Abang Johari earlier said that the MOUS would add to the state’s current existing list of collaborators including Cambridge Academic of Therapeutic Sciences, University of Cambridge.

Earlier on, the chief minister also declared open the Sarawak Infectious Diseases Centre and SRDC offices at Jalan Datuk Abang Abdul Rahim.

Among those present were Minister of Local Government and Housing Datuk Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian, Minister of Education, Science and Technological Research Datuk Amar Michael Manyin, Assistant Minister of Education, Science and Technological Research Dr Annuar Rapaee and State Attorney-General Datuk Talat Mahmood Abdul Rashid.