The Daya Bumi team.

MUKAH: The Daya Bumi team from Kampung Sesok Baru was crowned the winner of the Open Tug of War Tournament held recently in Kampung Teh Labak.

In second and third places were 17 Ringgit team from Kampung Sau and Team Babeng 3 from Kampung Teh Labak.

The inaugural competition was organised by the Labak Teh Village Development and Security Committee (JKKK) for Sports in conjunction with the closure of 2019.

Several villages including Kampung Tegak, Jebungan, Teh Sungai, Sesok Baru, Tabo and Sau also participated.

According to the head of the Sports Bureau Charles Kimju, a total of 14 teams took part in the competition using the 4-a-team players and single-knockout format.

Officiating at the launch was tribal chief Daniel Raping.

The Daya Bumi team.