Two more clusters declared in Sarawak


KUCHING: Two Covid-19 clusters categorised as community clusters have been declared in Sarawak — the Bukit Tinggi Cluster in Meradong and Lempaong Cluster in Betong today (July 16).

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in its daily Covid-19 report said the Bukit Tinggi Cluster was detected at a longhouse which was placed under enhanced movement control order (Emco) at Bukit Tinggi, Ulu Strass in Meradong.

Twenty nine individuals were screened in which 21 of them including the index case tested positive, while six were tested negative and two are still awaiting test results.

The committee said of the 19 cases out of 26 cases reported in Meradong district today (July 16) were from said cluster.

All positive cases are currently being treated at Sarikei Hospital and Sarikei Covid-19 Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC).

SDMC said the second community cluster — Lempaong Cluster — was detected after targeted screening involving residents at two longhouses located at Lempaong Spak in Betong district.

A total of 55 individuals were screened, in which 31, including the index case, tested positive for the virus, while 23 were negative and one is still awaiting test results.

The committee said all 21 cases reported in Betong district today (July 16), were from the cluster.

All positive cases were admitted to Betong Hospital and PKRC Betong.

Meanwhile, four Covid-19 clusters namely, Nanga Meruan Cluster in Selangau; Jalan Ilmu Cluster in Miri; Jalan Kidurong Cluster in Bintulu; and Kampung Sungai Agas Cluster in Kuching have ended.

This came after no new positive cases were reported in the last 28 days involving these clusters.

There are now 96 active clusters in Sarawak, of which 13 clusters saw an increase in cases.