Two new clusters declared

KUCHING: The State Health Department today declared two new Covid-19 clusters in two districts.

One is a community cluster in Pakan while the one is a workplace cluster in Matu, Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said in a statement.

“Pakan’s Lemujan Cluster involves residents of a longhouse which is currently under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO) in Lemujan area.

“Of the 42 people from the cluster, 38 have tested positive for Covid-19, including the index case, while the rest are still waiting for the test results,” the statement said.

Meanwhile, the Pasar Matu Cluster, involved an owner and staff at an eatery premises located in the Pasar Matu Lama of Matu Town.

“Of the 121 people, 29 including the index case tested positive for Covid-19, while 82 tested negative and 10 are still waiting for test results, and today the cluster recorded nine new cases,” added the committee.

All positive cases from the two clusters have been admitted to the respective hospitals and Covid-19 quarantine and low-risk treatment centres (PKRC) for isolation and further treatment.

Apart from that the committee also stated that the number of red zone districts has risen to a total of 36.

“Lawas, Matu and Julau each respectively recorded 55, 45 and 41 new Covid-19 cases in the past 14 days, turning the districts’ status from orange to red.

“Now there are no district in the orange zone, while three districts are given the yellow statues and only one district that is still a green zone,” said SDMC.