Two new clusters identified

Uggah addresses the press conference while Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian (left) and Sarawak Health director Dr Chin Zin Hing look on.

KUCHING: Two new Covid-19 clusters have been identified.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the Indah Riang Cluster involved Kuching, Serian, Simunjan and Saratok districts, while the Bedayan Cluster involved Serian and Samarahan districts.

“The index cluster for the Indah Riang Cluster is Case 3,107 that was detected on Jan 23 after going for Covid-19 screening at Sarawak General Hospital because the individual was symptomatic.

“From detection through the active contacts to this case, it was found that there were 15 more positive cases.

“As of Wednesday (Jan 27), 128 individuals were screened whereby 14 were positive with two new ones, 14 individuals were negative and another 98 individuals are awaiting results.”

Meanwhile, the index cluster for the Bedayan Cluster was Case 2,545, which was detected on Jan 20 after the symptomatic individual went for screening at a health clinic in Serian.

“From detection through the active contacts to this case, 12 positive cases were detected, including two new cases detected on Wednesday.

“As of Wednesday, 112 individuals were screened with 13 positive cases and two new positive cases, 61 individuals were negative and another 38 individuals are awaiting results” Uggah continued.

The addition of the two new clusters meant that there are a total of 10 active clusters in Sarawak.

Uggah said no new cases were recorded for the Bukit Sekubong Cluster in Sebauh District, Mador Cluster in Meradong, Bah Sayap Cluster and Jelita Cluster in Miri District as well as Keranji Tabuan Cluster and Stutong Cluster in Kuching District.

Meanwhile, seven districts remained red with 1,702 locally transmitted cases while four districts remained orange with 107 locally transmitted cases recorded in the past 14 days.

“Dalat, Bintulu, Kanowit, Beluru, Miri, Sibu and Kuching districts are still red zones.

“Sarikei, Subis, Betong and Song also remain orange.”

The yellow zones are Sebauh, Lawas, Telang Usan, Bukit Mabong, Tatau, Bau, Pakan, Serian, Belaga, Meradong, Julau, Kapit, Simunjan, Asajaya, Lubok Antu, Selangau, Samarahan and Sri Aman districts, with 106 locally transmitted cases recorded in the past 14 days. Eleven districts also remain green.