Two new clusters identified


KUCHING: The State Health Department has identified two new clusters yesterday (July 19).

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the Pagar Satok Cluster was a detention institution cluster involving the screening of detainees (OKT) at the detention lockup at Satok police station in Kuching district.

“A total of 83 individuals were tested where 24 of them were positive with 11 non-citizens and 13 Sarawakians.

“All positive cases were admitted to Sarawak General Hospital (SGH) and Covid-19 Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) in Kuching district,” said the SDMC.

The second cluster recorded is the Jalan Selalang Cluster which is a community cluster involving a few residents from a longhouse at Sungai Kerubong, Jalan Selalang in Sarikei District.

“Eighty-nine individuals were screened where 37 of them were found positive including the index case, 52 negatives, and 21 others are still awaiting their laboratory results.

“The positive cases were admitted to Sarikei Hospital and the PKRC under it,” it added.

Meanwhile, the committee also declared the end of the Nanga Strass Cluster in Meradong District after no cases were recorded within 28 days.

As of yesterday (July 19), there are 91 active clusters in Sarawak whereby six recorded 36 new cases.