Unimas honours staff members

Kadim (second right) presents the certificate to Dr Dessmon Weydon, a recipient of the Outstanding Service Award (APC).

KOTA SAMARAHAN: Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas) held its annual Majlis Anugerah Gemilang (Excellent Awards Ceremony) at Arena Gemilang, DeTAR Putra, Unimas today (March 17).

A total of 164 staff members received the Outstanding Service Award (APC) and 67 received the Loyal Service Award (APS) for serving 20 years with the institution. They included 28 staff members who retired this year.

Certificates of appreciation were also presented to 14 recipients who had contributed to the university and received acknowledgements in and outside the country in 2020.

There were 10 Academic Award categories including five categories for the Management Award  and two categories for the Sports Award for outstanding staff members in related fields.

For the academic categories, the Teaching Award went to Dr Rafeah Wahid and the Hope Academicians Award went to Dr Rosita Hamdan.

For the management categories, the Management Leadership and Professional Award was received by Besar Ketol while Rosnani Gondah received the Executive Leadership Award.

Jaul (centre) presents a prize to Dr Sze San Nah, a recipient of the RISE@Unimas Award.

Among the recipients of the Appreciation Certificates was Prof Dr Balbir Singh Mohan Singh who was number one in Malaysia and positioned at 268 in the world for Sub Field of Tropical Medicine based on the Scopus 2 percent citation ranking (top 2%) of the Stanford University world scientist as a result of research.

Another recipient was Professor Dr Indraneil Das, who was ranked number one in Malaysia and  placed at 110 in the world for Sub Field of Zoology based on the Scopus 2 percent highest citation (top 2%) the Stanford University world of scientists as a result of research.

The certificate was also presented to the Faculty of Arts Applied and Creative (FSGK) for winning the Excellence and Innovation award in the Arts category in the Times Higher Education (THE) Asia 2020 Awards through the staging of the  musical theatre, “Semarak Pertiwiku.”

The Permata Gemilang Award was also presented to the past Tun Abdul Rahman Ya’kup Library (PeTARY) director, Korina Ibrahim, who passed away on Feb 20. It was received by her spouse.

Present during the ceremony were Secretary Datuk Amar Jaul Samion and Unimas Board of Directors Chairman Tan Sri Datuk Seri Panglima Sulong Matjeraie.

Also present were Vice Chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Mohamad Kadim Suadi, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation) Prof Wan Hashim Wan Ibrahim, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic and International) Prof Dr Ahmad Hata Rasit, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni) Prof Dr Kamarudin Kana, Assistant Vice Chancellor (Leadership and Development) Prof Datuk Mohd Fadzil Abd Rahman and Registrar Azlan Ramli.