Villages, associations receive grants worth RM1.2 million

Manyin (fifth left) having a group photo with the MRP grants to the recipients.

KUCHING: A total of 97 minor rural projects (MRP) grants worth RM1.2 million have been given to 58 villages and associations in the Opar state constituency.

Education, Science and Technological Research Datuk Amar Michael Manyin Jawong presented the cheques on behalf of Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg at Kampung Bitokan, Selampit in Lundu district near here today.

Manyin said the allocation was meant to be distributed and presented by the constituency’s state representative.

However, he noted that Opar assemblyman Ranum Mina was of the opposition party which led to him being entrusted to hand over the allocation.

“I am sure this grant is long-awaited by the villages and associations concerned. I would like to call on the Dayaks to pledge their support for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) so that this constituency will not be left behind in development.

“For the upcoming state election, I believe that GPS will once again lead the state government. I am confident that GPS will be able to recapture this constituency,” he said.

Manyin also reminded the village development and security committees (JKKK) to disseminate information regarding the Covid-19 vaccination to the people.

“This programme was supposed to be conducted in February but was postponed due to the transmission of Covid-19 in Lundu.  It is the responsibility of the local representative to encourage the people to get themselves vaccinated and be a part of the state government’s effort to form an immunity herd.

“I hope that JKKK present today will do their part in informing the people to get themselves registered for vaccination through the MySejahtera application,” added Manyin today.

Also present at the simple ceremony were Tasik Biru assemblyman Datuk Henry Harry Jinep, Serembu assemblyman Miro Simuh, Lundu district offer Gustian Durani, political secretaries to the Chief Minister Charles Chad Nissom and John Nyigor as well as Penghulu Longer Mised.