KUALA LUMPUR: Airports Council International (ACI) World has revealed its world-renowned Airport Service Quality Awards winners, recognising airports worldwide that deliver the best customer experience in the opinion of their own passengers.

This year, 140 awards have been won by 84 individual airports, according to a statement.

Consistent winners Indianapolis International Airport, Beijing Capital International Airport, Singapore Changi Airport, and Toronto Pearson, Aeroporto di Roma-Fiumicino, Mumbai’s Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Delhi’s Indira Gandhi International Airport, Shanghai Pudong International Airport and Sheremetyevo International Airport have this year been joined by first-time recipients from all regions.

The first-time recipients include Kotoka International Airport (Accra, Ghana), Mangalore Airport (Mangalore, India), Supadio Airport (Pontianak, Indonesia), Ålesund Airport (Alesund, Norway), Aeropuerto de Hierro (Valverde, Spain) and Aeropuerto de Melilla (Melilla, Spain).

“The Airport Service Quality Awards represent the highest possible recognition for airport operators around the world and recognise excellence in customer experience,” said ACI World Director General, Angela Gittens.

“The awards this year have been won by a diverse group of winning airports from around the world which illustrates the industry-wide commitment to delivering exceptional customer experience.”

The Airport Service Quality programme is the world’s leading airport customer experience measurement and bench-marking programme. In 2019, more than half of the world’s 8.8 billion travellers passed through an ASQ airport.

The winning airports will come together at the ASQ Awards Ceremony to be held during the third ACI Customer Experience Global Summit in Kraków, Poland in September 2020. – Bernama