World OSH Day commemorated

Ugak signing the book '365 Hari Lensa Perjalanan Datuk Wilson Ugak Kumbong' as Ayop (left) and Mohan (right) look on.

KUCHING: The National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (Niosh) celebrated the World Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Day at Dewan Rafflesia, Niosh Bandar Baru Bangi.

World OSH Day, which takes place every April 28, commemorates those who died from industrial accidents and illnesses while stressing the importance of occupational safety and health.

“This year’s theme is ‘Anticipate, Prepare, and Respond to Crisis – Invest Now in Resilient OSH Systems’, as prescribed by the International Labour Organisation,” said Niosh chairman Datuk Wilson Ugak Kumbong.

“This is an ongoing initiative and the Promotional Framework for Occupational Safety and Health Convention 2006 (No.187) was signed to ensure that employees in the country are adequately covered when performing their daily duties.”

Ugak also noted the Covid-19 pandemic has impacted every aspect of OSH, from the risk of infection to how to prevent the virus from spreading.

“In keeping with this year’s theme, employers are encouraged to invest in improving OSH to cope with Covid-19, including investing in programmes such as online networks, flexible working hours, the use of nose and mouth masks, hygiene, supervision, OSH training, and the monitoring of compliance with Covid-19 SOPs in the workplace.

“Every current work procedure should be re-evaluated in light of Covid-19 risks, mental wellbeing, and the implementation of effective risk-control measures…it is, therefore, essential to prepare for a realistic emergency response plan in the event of an outbreak in the workplace.”

Meanwhile, Niosh executive director Ayop Salleh said the World OSH Day was celebrated live online among the Niosh regional offices.

“In 2021, the World OSH targets to concentrate on measures to improve the occupational safety and health management system.”

Also present were Niosh deputy chairman Datuk T. Mohan, and Niosh and NCSB board members.