11 localities undergo EMCO

KUCHING: Eleven localities were put under the enhanced movement control order (EMCO), as declared by the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) today (July 16).

The committee said that three longhouses in Bintulu district namely Rumah (Rh) Dayang Serang, Batu 34, Jalan Bintulu-Miri; Rh Enbau Anting, Sungai Sebemban, Jalan Pesisir Kuala Tatau; and Rh Radin Jelemin, Sungai Entajum, Sangan, Tatau had undergone EMCO from July 15 until Jul 28.

Meanwhile, Rh Sap, Sungai Tulai, Bintangor in Meradong district had also started its EMCO on the same date but will end on July 31.

Three longhouses in Sarikei district namely Rh Ningkan, Sungai Paoh; Rh Maja, Sungai Baron; and Rh Brinau, Sungai Baron, were put under EMCO on July 16 until Aug 1.

On a similar date, Rh Anthony, Sungai Merah Dayu, Bintangor in Meradong district had also undergone EMCO.

From July 17 until July 30, three villages in Kuching will be put under EMCO namely Kampung Astana Lot; Kampung Sungai Bedil; and Kampung Seratau.

As of today (July 16), the SDMC announced the end of EMCO in six localities.

The Sunny Crop Farm workers quarters in Tatau district; and Jejalong Palm Oil Mill Workers Quarters, Tubau Sebauh in Sebauh district had ended it EMCO today (July 16) while Nanga Tada Resettlement Scheme in Kanowit district will end today (July 17).

Whereas three longhouses, Rh Isa Nyawai, Sungai Sengkabang Sibuti and Rh Banyang Ngalai, Sungai Sengkabang Sibuti both located in Miri district ended its EMCO today while Rh Nyandang Sungai Rayah, Jalan KJD, Bintangor in Meradong will end its EMCO today (July 17).

On another note, the committee had also reported that Betong district had turned red after recording 51 positive cases in the past 14 days.

This brings the state’s numbers to 22 red status districts, three orange status districts, 13 yellow status districts, and two green status districts.