1,326 conferred state awards, honours


KUCHING:  A former president of the Senate (Dewan Negara) Tan Sri Datuk Seri Abang Ahmad Urai Datuk Hakim Abang Mohideen heads the list of recipients of state honours and awards in conjunction with the Yang Di-Pertua Negeri Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud’s 85th birthday today.

He was conferred the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang (DA) award which carries the title ‘Datuk Amar’.

Another recipient of the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang award (posthumous) was a pioneer member of the Sarawak Cabinet in 1963 the late Datuk Seri Pengiran Hipni Pengiran Annu.

A total of 1,326 persons were conferred state honours, awards and medals in conjunction with the Head of State’s birthday this year.

Federal Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri is among six recipients of the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS) award which carries the title ‘Datuk Seri’.

The others are State Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah, Transport Minister Datuk Lee Kim Shin, State Attorney General Datuk Talat Mahmood Abdul Rashid, State Financial Secretary Datuk Dr Wan Lizozman Wan Omar and Datuk Kho Kak Beng of KKB Engineering Berhad.

Assistant Minister of Corporate Affairs and Ukas, Abdullah Saidol and Shin Yang Group of Companies’ group executive chairman James Ling Lu Kiong are conferred the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK) which carries the title ‘Datuk’.

The Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak  (DJBS award, which carries the title ‘Datu’ is conferred on Education, Science and Technological Research Ministry permanent secretary Kameri Affandi; Modernisation of Agriculture, Native Land and Regional Development Ministry permanent secretary Edwin Abit;  Welfare, Community Wellbeing, Women, Family and Childhood Development Ministry permanent secretary Dr Rashidah Bolhassan; Kuching Division Resident Sherrina Hussaini; Sri Aman Division Resident Indit Bangai; State Planning Unit in the Chief Minister’s Department director Assoc. Prof Dr Muhammad Abdullah Zaidel; Teacher Professionalism Division in the Education Ministry Malaysia director Dr Azhar Ahmad; State Fire and Rescue Services director Khirudin Drahman @ Hussaini; Bintulu Development Authority (BDA)  general manager Muhammad Yakup Kari and Sarawak Timber Industry Development Corporation (STIDC) general manager Hashim Bojet.

Seventeen persons are conferred the Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (PSBS) award, which carries the title ‘Dato’. They include Senator Dr Zaiedi Suhaili, PBB youth chief Gerald Rentap Jabu; Sarawak Deputy Police Commissioner Mancha Ata and national diver Pandelela Riong Pamg.

Rearing goose that lays golden eggs

Rep’s ardent appeal to youth SIBU: Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing has appealed to local youth to help him turn Sibu into a goose that...

Share post:

Our Opinion

More like this

Govt paying you, minister reminds local leaders

SIBU: Village chiefs and community leaders have been told...

No question of neglecting any community, assures YB

SIMANGGANG: The Chinese community, especially in the Lingga state...

Disabled to get fair shake under GPS

KUCHING: People with disabilities (OKU) will be given the...

4,834 proposed projects awaiting approval in Limbang

MIRI: As many as 4,834 proposed projects have been...

Temple upgrading project ready soon

MIRI: The ongoing upgrading works of Hai Long Si...

Landslide victims get cash aid

BAU: Three heads of households (KIR) who were affected...

45.1 per cent of Malaysia’s adults given booster dose

KUALA LUMPUR: A total of 10,561,588 individuals or 45.1...

Man held after boss reports bike theft

MIRI: A 27-year-old local man was arrested on Sunday...