54 entities, individuals honoured at Sarawak Chief Minister Environmental Award 2019/2020


KUCHING: Fifty-four entities and individuals yesterday received the Sarawak Chief Minister Environmental Award (CMEA) 2019/2020.

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg was present at the award presentation ceremony held at Imperial Hotel here. The event was live-streamed on Sarawak Public Communication Unit’s (UKAS) Facebook page yesterday (Sept 13).

In his speech, he said the initiative to organise such a prestigious biennial award was an important avenue for the industries, businesses, local authorities and individuals to demonstrate their corporate environmental responsibility through their organisational green initiatives in reducing carbon footprints in their production processes and operations.

“The exemplary effort of the award winners should show the way forward as to the future direction of our state in going green to protect the environment and creating an ecosystem conducive for sustainable development,” he said.

Abang Johari pointed out that the business and industrial sectors were the principal sources of investment and driver of economic growth in the state and the award presented an opportunity for public recognition in environmental conservation and leadership.

“Entrepreneurs and the corporate sector should regard this biennial CMEA as the beginning of their long journey towards self-regulation in environmental compliance and management,” he said.

The chief minister added the recipients of the award, namely, industries, organisations and individuals were receiving the state’s recognition for their commitment to environmental stewardship.

Meanwhile, this year, a total of 106 entries were received — 28 for the Large Enterprise category, 22 for the Medium Enterprise category, one for the Small Enterprise category, three each for Individuals and Local Authorities category and 49 for the Eateries and Food Outlets (EFO) category.

Out of the 54 winners, 13 received the Champion Awards, 21 the Gold Awards and 20 the Merit Awards.

Abang Johari (seated centre) and other delegates posing with the award recipients during the Sarawak Chief Minister Environmental Award (CMEA) 2019/2020 award presentation ceremony.

The award recipients are listed as below:

Champion award winners

EFO category

The Bikalan; Outright Coffee; and AP Mega Jaya Sdn Bhd.

Local Authority category

Sibu Municipal Council and Kuching North City Commission (DBKU).

Medium Enterprise category

Salcra Stenggang Oil Palm Estate and Sime Darby Oils Bintulu Sdn Bhd.

Large Enterprise category

Perbena Emas Sdn Bhd; Sarawak Energy Berhad (Mukah Power Generation Sdn Bhd); Trienekens (Sarawak) Snd Bhd; Shin Yang Forestry Sdn Bhd (Linau Forest Management Unit T3228); and Bintulu Intergrated Facility (Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd (Sarawak Gas).

Individual and Journalist category

Dr Liong Ee Kian

Gold award winners

Local Authority category

Miri City Council

Medium Enterprise category

Salcra Sedarat/Memalol Oil Palm Estate; and Salcra Bratak Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Undan Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Saratok Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Saribas Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Roban South Oil Palm Estate and Salcra Roban North Oil Palm Estate.

Large Enterprise category

Sarawak Energy Berhad (Sejinkat Power Corporation Sdn Bhd); Palmcol Sdn Bhd; Shin yang Forestry Sdn Bhd; Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd Sarawak (Gas); Sarawak Energy Berhad (Bakun Hydro Power Sdn Bhd); Malaysia LNG Sdn Bhd; Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd Sarawak (Oil); Sarawak Energy Berhad (Murum Hydro Power Generation Sdn Bhd); Miri Port Authority; HGST Malaysia Sdn Bhd; and ZedTee Sdn Bhd.

Individual and Journalist category

Alex Phang Chang Seng and Ting Hui Yee.

Merit award winners

Medium Enterprise category

F&N Beverages Manufacturing Sdn Bhd (Kuching Plant); Salcra Melikin Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Mongkos Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Kedup 1 and 2 Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Taee Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Batu Kaya Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Lemanak Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Batang Ai Oil Palm Estate; Salcra Jagoi Oil Palm Estate; and Salcra Sebako Oil Palm Estate.

Large Enterprise category

Saratok Palm Oil Mill; Naim Holdings Sdn Bhd; Sarawak Energy Berhad on Proposed Bintulu Tanjung Kidurong Combined Cycle Power Plant; Kumang Kluster Petronas Carigali Sdn Bhd; Sarawak Energy Berhad (Batang Ai Power Generation Sdn Bhd); Bintulu Port Authority; Cipta Briquettes Sdn Bhd; and Baleh Hydroelectric Project, Diversion Tunnels.

Fostering spirit of patriotism

SERIAN: The involvement of locals in numerous activities, regardless of their background, is a convincing proof of unity. Bukit Semuja assemblyman John Ilus lauded the...

Share post:

Our Opinion

More like this

50 teams join Amazing Race Sarawakku Sayang 2022

KUCHING: Fifty teams comprising 250 female civil servants from...

Nirvana donates RM20k to Kuching Life Care Society

BAU: Nirvana Memorial Park Kuching has donated a sum...

Rep admits to PH’s shortcomings

KUCHING: Bandar Kuching MP Dr Kelvin Yii has admitted...

Rep pledges to make sure Sibu had hockey field

KUCHING: Deputy Minister of Education, Innovation and Talent Development...

Unity a hallmark of stability: Awang Tengah

KUCHING: Unity and mutual understanding is key to political...

20 pledge to donate organs

MIRI: Some 20 individuals have pledged to donate their...

DUN to convene in November

KUCHING: The State Legislative Assembly is expected to convene...

Party to seek legal recourse

KUCHING: See Chee How, who has just quit Parti...

Support Healthy Malaysia agenda

SIBU: Local government agencies, private agencies, non-governmental organisations and...

Place priority on education, entrepreneurship

KUCHING: The Kedayan community has been urged to place...

Efforts to empower women in Puncak Borneo intensified

PADAWAN: Efforts to amplify women's socio-economic activities, particularly in...

12 homeless after fire razes 3 homes

SIBU: Twelve residents were left homeless after a morning...