SDMC withdraws decision; dine-in still prohibited

KUCHING: The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) has decided to temporarily withdraw its earlier decision to allow dine-in pending the issuance of new standard operating procedures (SOPs) by the state Ministry of Local Government and Housing (MLGH).

“As the Delta Variant of Concern (VOC) has been detected in Sarawak, the ministry will review and improve the dine-in SOPs for eateries under Phase 2 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP),” it said in a statement today (July 13).

On Monday (July 12), it was announced that Sarawak would enter Phase 2 of the NRP today (July 14). This phase would involve relaxations in movement control restrictions including dine-ins being permitted.

On another note, the committee declared that the enhanced movement control order (Emco) would be enforced at two places in the state.

“The Emco will be enforced at Kampung Kendaie and Bukit Batu in Lundu District from July 13 to 26 while the Emco at Rumah Jerah, Balai Sare in Sarikei District will be imposed from July 13 to 29,” it said.

On the other hand, it announced that the Emco at a total of eight localities would be lifted as of today (July 13).

These localities are namely Rh Muda, Issu Bangat in Betong District; Rumah Edwin, 4th Mile, Sebetan and Rumah Ngendin, Emplaie Ulu in Saratok District; Shin Yang Shipyard workers’ quarters, Lot 201 & 211, Kuala Baram Industrial Estate in Miri District; and Rumah Wilson Bana, Kampung Po Ai in Sri Aman District.

In Tatau District, the Emco was lifted at three localities – Power Bright Camp (KTS Timber) workers’ quarters; Rumah Amin Batot, Sungai Kelawit; and Rumah Was Jenteng, Sungai Entajum.

On the status of districts, SDMC said Dalat District had changed its status from orange to yellow, with 18 local infection cases reported in the last fortnight.

With that, there were 21 red districts, four orange districts, 14 yellow districts, and one green district in Sarawak as of Tuesday.

Meanwhile, no new clusters were declared on Tuesday, leaving the remaining number of active clusters in Sarawak at 100.