Teams from Sarawak clinch top spots in Junior Innovate competition

From top left: Amadeus Ting and Deborah Liau from SJKC Chung Hua Miri, Nicholas Too and Summer Ting from SJKC Thai Kwang, Eugene Lin and Darren Teo from SJKC Hock Lam and Kong Ing Eng and Nathan Ting from SJKC Sacred Heart.

KUCHING: Teams from Sarawak have clinched four out of the top six spots during the National Junior Innovate 2020 competition.

Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Cina (SJKC) Chung Hua Miri, Miri was the first runner-up, losing narrowly to the DT Girls team from Melaka; followed by SJKC Thai Kwang, Sibu (third runner-up); and SJKC Sacred Heart, Sibu and SJKC Hock Lam, Kapit with commendation prizes.

Other Sarawakian teams that managed to bag gold and silver awards were teams from SJKC Hock Lam, Kapit; Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) St Francis Xavier (M), Kanowit; SJKC Yee Ting, Kanowit; SK Trusan, Lawas; SJKC Chung Hua Sambir, Samarahan; SJKC Chuang Hua No 3, Kuching; SJKC Chung Hua No 4, Kuching; and SJKC Chung Hua No 5, Kuching.

“The Ministry of Education has always endorsed and encouraged lifelong learning among the students. It is the way to go if we do not want to be left behind. Therefore, we must remind ourselves to constantly foster the spirit of lifelong learning from an early age,” said Deputy Minister of Education Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon during the closing ceremony of the competition on Sunday (Jan 31).

The host for this year’s competition, Sarawak Digital Economy Corporation (SDEC), has agreed to continue its collaboration with all partners to support more schools in Sarawak to participate in the 2021 Junior Innovate competition as part of its mandate to further develop the Sarawak Digital and Innovation Ecosystem.

Hazwan and Chumbaka Sdn Bhd principal consultant Dr Chew Yen Seng virtually congratulating participants for their achievements.

“What we’re doing together here, with all the partners, is something really important for the students, and we hope that more partners from other states will join us in supporting our students’ education,” said head of Innovation and Entrepreneurship SDEC, Hazwan Razak.

Schools that are keen to participate are to register at