Sarawak Deputy Police Commissioner Datuk Dev Kumar. Photo: Ramidi Subari

KUCHING: The Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) Sarawak is expected to implement movement restrictions between Zone 1 and Zone 2 in the state on August 1, once the Ministry of Health (MoH) grants the state government permission for this enforcement.

Sarawak Deputy Police Commissioner Datuk Dev Kumar said that this was just an estimation for now as official directives have not been received yet.

“Once we receive instructions from the Health director-general allowing Sarawak to implement this movement restriction, we will start on midnight August 1,” he said, adding that this is expected to last from August 1 to 14.

He said this when met by reporters at the launch of the state-level National Month and Fly the Jalur Gemilang campaign at the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) building here on Tuesday (July 28).

According to him, the movement restrictions would be similar to those during the earlier movement control order (MCO) period, but this time, they are especially between Zone 1 and Zone 2.

He said that a permit from the police would have to be obtained for such movement, apart from a few exceptions which would be announced in due time.

“We are estimating about five or six roadblocks between these areas,” said Dev.

Earlier, the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) had decided on these movement restrictions, with Zone 1 covering Kuching, Samarahan and Serian while Zone 2 — Sri Aman, Betong, Sarikei, Sibu, Kapit, Mukah, Bintulu, Miri and Limbang.

SDMC said movement within the zone is allowed, and the exceptions include carrying out official duties, essential services, death of an immediate family member, serious illness of a close family member, and health examination requirements.