New cluster declared in Sarikei district


KUCHING: The State Health Department today declared one new cluster, namely, the Sungai Setajam cluster. 

The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the Sungai Setajam cluster was a community cluster involving a longhouse in Sungai Setajam in the Sarikei district.

 “Of the 184 individuals, who were screened, 75 including the index case were positive.

“Of the 75 positive cases, 63 new cases were reported today. The remaining 109 individuals were negative,” it added in a statement today (July 10).

 All Covid-19 positive cases were referred to the Sarikei Hospital and Covid-19 Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) in the Sarikei district for isolation and further treatment

The SDMC added that 14 of the 100 active clusters in the state had recorded 133 new cases.

It revealed that the Betong had turned orange after recording 28 cases in the last 14 days while the Lubok Antu district had also turned orange after recording 29 cases in the last fortnight. With these, there are now seven orange districts in the state.

“Sarawak now has 20 red districts, 12 yellow districts and only one green district,” said the committee.

The SDMC also announced the enforcement of the enhanced movement control order (EMCO) at two localities in Bintulu and Maradong.