Dine-in allowed with conditions


KUCHING: The Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) has announced that dine-in at eateries in the state’s southern zone will be allowed starting Monday (Sept 20) with certain conditions in place.

The southern zone encompasses the districts of Kuching, Bau, Lundu, Samarahan, Asajaya, Simunjan, Serian, and Tebedu.

The committee said the first condition for dine-in was that operators, employees, and customers had completed two doses of Covid-19 vaccination.

“Owners of business premises are required to ensure that ventilation is in accordance with the standards issued by the Ministry of Local Government and Housing Sarawak,” they said in their daily Covid-19 statement on Friday (Sept 17).

They said other businesses in the southern zone would also be permitted to operate from 5am until 10pm.

SDMC said that in the southern zone, individuals and groups of individuals are not allowed to be in public after 12am without a reasonable excuse.

They said the above decisions would come into effect starting Monday (Sept 20). 

“Currently, the southern zone is still in Phase 2 while other districts are in Phase 3 (of the National Recovery Plan). The guidelines or SOPs in Sarawak are based on the SOPs gazetted by the National Security Council (MKN) Sarawak,” they stated.

In addition, the committee declared that reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) or Antigen Rapid Test Kit (RTK-Antigen) test results would not be required for cross-district movement.

“A police permit is still required,” they stressed, adding that this measure would come into effect starting Saturday (Sept 18).

Provide correct info to avoid delay, SMEs told

KUCHING: Small and medium enterprises (SMEs) and micro enterprises should provide correct and complete information when applying for assistance or grants under Sarawakku Sayang...

Share post:

Our Opinion

More like this

Aid comes in handy for private sector

KUCHING: A Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) leader has...

Assistance reflects GPS government’s concern

KUCHING: The implementation of Sarawakku Sayang Special Assistance (BKSS)...

Chinese community leader lauds aid via BKSS 8.0 package 

KUCHING: It is heartening to note that the government...

Aid to help ease cash flows of many families

KUCHING: The practical aid measures included under the Sarawakku...

Utility bills, rental discounts for six more months

KUCHING: The Sarawak government is extending the monthly electricity...

Sarawak announces latest BKSS 8.0 package worth RM285 bln

KUCHING: The Sarawak government announced the latest assistant package,...

Abang Johari receives courtesy call from federal minister

KUCHING: Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari...

CM spells out important concepts in managing Sarawak

KUCHING: Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari...