32 teams eye SugarBun Esports Cup DoTA 2


SugarBun marketing manager Sophia Ong (fourth left) together with the sponsors and partners. PHOTO: ANDRE OLIVEIRO

KUCHING: A total of 32 teams will compete in the first-ever ‘SugarBun Esports Cup: DoTA 2 tournament’ that will be held this month.

The preliminaries will be held on May 13 and 14 at Gizmo Arena, One TJ, here.

The top 16 teams will then compete from May 19 to 21 at the Centre Atrium here at VivaCity Megamall.

SugarBun marketing manager Sophia Ong announced this during a press conference at the fast-food outlet at One TJ, here, on Friday.

“Registrations were opened on the 18th this month but due to an overwhelming response, all slots were quickly filled up,” she said.

When asked why were slots limited to just 32 teams, Ong said that since it will be the first time they organise such event, they want something that was easy to manage .

“We want a benchmark and at the same time, we also want a controlled environment,” she said.

She added that they will organise more in the future, preferably three times a year to provide a more sustainable environment for gamers.

When asked if the tournament will be organised for other games in future, Ong said that they will look into it. “At this moment, DoTA 2 has the biggest base,” she said.

The prizes include cash prizes of RM5,000, a trophy, and individual medals for the champions.

For first runners up, they will also win a cash prize of RM2,500 along with a trophy and individual medals as well; second runners-up will receive RM1,000 and third runner-up will win RM500.

The top four teams will also receive peripherals from Logitech.

Meanwhile, the remaining teams will also receive cash prizes of RM150 (5th to 8th place) and RM50 (9th to 16th places).

The sponsors and partners for the event are Hitz. FM, Redbull, PCloud, Gizmo Gamer and Logitech.