Another new workplace cluster reported

KUCHING: Another new Covid-19 workplace cluster has been reported in Sarawak today (June 1), while three clusters have ended.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the Health Department has declared the new cluster in Miri known as the Jalan Haji Haji Lampam Cluster.

The workplace cluster involves employees of a food and entertainment premise in Jalan Haji Lampam, Miri City.

SDMC said 121 individuals were screened whereby 22 cases, including the index case, were tested positive, while 96 were tested negative for the virus. Three cases are still awaiting laboratory test results.

All positive cases of this cluster were referred to Miri Hospital and admitted to the Covid-19 Low Risk Quarantine and Treatment Centre (PKRC) in Miri for isolation and further treatment.

Meanwhile, the three Covid-19 clusters that have ended after no new cases were reported in the past 28 days are the Pondok Cluster in Belaga, Jalan Sebauh-Bintulu Cluster in Sebauh, and the Batu 25 Cluster in Bintulu.

Apart from that, there are still 80 active clusters in the state, with a total of nine clusters recording an additional of 80 new positive cases.

These clusters are the Muara Tabuan Cluster in Kuching which saw an additional of 45 cases; Putai Cluster in Mambong (eight); Jalan Dato Permaisuri Cluster in Miri (six); Beladin Cluster in Pusa (five); Emperan Cluster in Selangau (five); Hulu Spaoh Cluster in Betong (five); Gerigat Cluster in Kabong (three); Jalan Simpang Tiga Cluster in Kuching (one); and Tengah Hulu Gedong Cluster in Simunjan (one).

Meantime, the Covid-19 zone status for Marudi and Kabong districts has changed from yellow to orange after 38 and 23 local transmitted cases were reported in the districts respectively in the last two weeks.

For Saratok district, it is now an orange zone whereby it was previously a red zone after only 40 cases of local transmission cases were recorded in the past 14 days.

The latest development brings the number of districts classified as orange zones in the state to six districts.

Twenty-seven districts are classified as red zones, six as yellow zones and one, namely Telang Usan, remains as green zone.