New cluster declared in Sibu

KUCHING: Another Covid-19 cluster named the Jalan Maju Cluster in Sibu was declared by the State Health Department today.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas, however, did not reveal the details of the new cluster.

“There are 40 clusters that are still active. Of the total, nine clusters have recorded increases in new cases,” he told a press conference on the daily Covid-19 update at the Old State Legislative Assembly (DUN) building here today.

Uggah added that the status of Asajaya district had changed from green to yellow after five locally transmitted Covid-19 cases were recorded in the last 14 days.

“With this, the number of green zones in the state has been reduced to seven,” he said.

Uggah said Sri Aman had changed from orange to red after 47 locally transmitted Covid-19 cases were recorded in the past two weeks.

With this, the number of red zones in the state is now 12.

“Saratok and Sebauh districts have changed from yellow to orange after recording 23 and 24 transmitted Covid-19 cases respectively in the last 14 days.

“This brings the number of orange zones in Sarawak to four,” he added.